A Plea to My Local Y and All Other Gyms

I wish that spin classes could be categorized by genre of music.  I mean, from what I can tell, all spin classes are pretty much the same anyway – “There’s a hill coming up!” “Jumps!” “Switchbacks!” (what does that mean and as if we really do that while riding real bikes.) So I think that this would save a lot of people a lot of time and more importantly, save myself from sweating through another 45 torturous minutes of fratty rock music or the Black Eyed Peas. Instead, I could select from classes like Glee Faves or New Wave Classics or Indie Rock That Sounds Like New Wave Classics or, how about The Best of 90’s Euro-techno Club Hits or (yes!) Holy Hair Metal.  I realize that we all have different tastes in music, but then this way, everyone would be happy.  Spinning can be agonizing enough as it is, no need to make my ears bleed, too. Just sayin’.

One thought on “A Plea to My Local Y and All Other Gyms

  1. OMG, I totally agree with you! I took a Zumba class, and I was not feeling the music. I was just trying to keep up with the moves though so I wasn’t as concerned about the music, but still it would have made the class a lot better.

Leave a Reply

