Painfully Trendy on a Whole New Level

So call me a fashion victim, but I felt like sprucing myself up a bit, so I thought I’d take a couple much talked about trends for a spin.  I’m not quite sure what I was hoping for, but what I wasn’t prepared for was an actual threat to my physical well-being.  Beware, these trends may be dangerous to your health.

1) Long Oval Nails: So after fatigue from countless seasons of short goth-y  nails, plus well, neglect in personal grooming, I figured there’s no time like the present to give this one a go.  After a couple coats of Essie Au Natural on my new talons, I thought I was good to go. Not so easy. I came this close to blinding myself on numerous occasions while putting in my contact lenses and I’m surprised that I didn’t wake up every morning with self-inflicted scratch marks on my face and body.  Not to mention, I was seriously annoying myself with the clicking and clacking while typing away on the keyboard and iPhone screen. I made it just one week before reverting back to 2008 short nails and it feels fantastic.

Click through to the full post for painful trend numero dos. Ouch!

2) The Top Knot: Favored by countless editors and models during this past Fashion Week, the top knot is everywhere. I figured, hey, with my aforementioned slightly compromised personal grooming combined with laziness, this trend will be perfect for me. So, with the help of some hair spray and hair pins, I maneuvered the top knot. Thought it was pretty cute with the bangs, too. Well, I only lasted about 15 minutes before I was nearly incapacitated by a top knot generated migrane. I should have known better. I can barely wear my sunglasses on the top of my head for more than 5 minutes without feeling like my noggin is being squeezed in a vise. At my wedding, I had to pop multiple Advils just to make it through the day in my tiara (it was my day, OK? Tiara allowed).

Two fall trends bite the dust – well, for me anyway.

One thought on “Painfully Trendy on a Whole New Level

  1. I could never do long nails either. I used to bite my nails so I must keep them short, plus I think short nails just look better.

Leave a Reply

