My Magic Coat

(I figure I should write something about fashion or shopping since, to be honest, it looks a bit funny to see a pic of Richard Belzer atop the page amidst a sea of pastel blue and pink.  So here goes.)

This post will be about what Henry and I have dubbed “my magic coat.”  I spotted and immediately fell in love with this vintage intense royal blue velvet coat at the outdoor Brooklyn Flea two summers ago (before all this One Hanson Place business).  I hesitated on buying it since I was just laid off and didn’t really need a velvet coat in the middle of summer.  Unbeknownst to me and despite his initial reaction that the coat was “so blue”, Henry sneakily bought it for me and surprised me with it at lunch.

Now, that was seriously the best $65 he ever spent because everywhere I go, I get compliments on that coat.  The magic coat is also the reason that I was able to get a fantastic quote from Anika Noni Rose and two photos of Patricia Clarkson at the Housing Works Fashion for Action benefit.  While I was hovering around waiting for a free moment, both of the lovely ladies actually came up to me on their own to discuss said outerwear piece.  Basically, the lesson learned here is that everyone needs a statement coat and if you don’t have one, I’ve put together a handy collection of suggestions for you.

Top row, from left to right: Tron Legacy tulip coat by Opening Ceremony, $460; royal blue jacket by In Stilo, on sale $89, from $295; double-breasted tweed coat by Proenza Schouler at Zoe, $1250

Bottom row, from left to right: cropped blue frill jacket by Matthew Williamson at Joseph M, approx. $1113; Madeline wool cape by ArynK at Nasty Gal, $130; double-breasted trench coat by Burberry, $2195

Leave a Reply

